Sunday, September 30, 2007

Welcome the new MI sales tax!

HB5198 just passed the House 56-53. See earlier post to get some details. It ain't pretty.

16 comments:

wolflady48884 said...

Please post the names of any Republicans who voted for this. I missed that vote today.

Anonymous said...

I'm a realtor ... how will this new tax affect commissions? As if things aren't slow enough already!

Anonymous said...

Details? And this is DEFINITELY not a good thing! All's this means is higher prices to cover my added overhead for tracking sales tax dollars.

Thanks for the help though Jack, and keep us posted!

Anonymous said...

Please post the names of the defectors or tell us where to find them.

Keep up the good work Jack

Anonymous said...

Here is the site

joel said...

Anyone who voted for this deserves to be recalled, so let the recalls begin

Anonymous said...

I'm still having trouble believing that there are so many fools in Lansing. When will enough be enough??? I guess this is just one more nail in Michigans coffin. I can't even afford to bid on this state on ebay!!! To much tax to pay!!

Anonymous said...

Jack -- Thank you for keeping us posted. I've never been on the internet more. With a husband and a daughter on the layoff list it hits home big time. But we are all FIRM IN OUR RESOLVE THAT "revenue" (taxes, fees, whatever is the current in term) ARE GOING TO KILL THIS STATE!!! When can we get responcible people into Lansing and kick out all of the special interest elected!!

Steph623 said...

I WANT NAMES!!!!!!!

Anonymous said...

Oh my, now I'll have to pay tax on my lawn service. How will I ever make it?

joel said...

Everyone, just go to http://www.rightmichigan.com for the details on this vote, it passed 56-53, NO Republicans voted for the tax hike.

Steph623 said...

Joel - the GOVERNOR needs to be recalled - if ONLY on the State Police Headquarters deal alone! THAT is against Michigan's Constitution, and is frankly, disgusting.

joel said...

steph623 I couldn't agree more, I only hope all of this nonsense will give a bit more weight to that argument. Its not even about how worthless she is, its about sending the message to everyone else, they are beholden to the special interests, and the lobbyists, and the unions, and they need to realize, they are accountable to us, the people who pay their salaries.

Anonymous said...

Can the Senate Stop this tax?

Jimbo said...

This is TRULY a discriminatory TAX! You can't pick and choose which services to tax. you must tax ALL services or NO services.

It would be like placing a tax on churches ... but only taxing the Catholics and Presbyterians!

All or NOTHING ... and I prefer NOTHING.

When this so-called governor ran for re-election, she said she could balance the budget without tax increases or new taxes.

RECALL GRANDHOLM and send her butt back to Canada ... maybe they don't want her either.

Steph623 said...

I might add here that NO REPUBLICANS voted for this. Please send a message of thanks to our GOP Reps. They stood firm. It's all they could do. I'm proud of them. This was passed because those yellow Dems who were previously abstaining, finally voted.

For anyone who is interested here are the names and contacts of the Dems who were abstaining:

Barb Byrum: barbbyrum@house.mi.gov
Ed Clemente: edclemente@house.mi.gov
Marc Corriveau: marccorriveau@house.mi.gov
Robert Dean: robertdean@house.mi.gov
Kate Ebli: kateebli@house.mi.gov
Martin Griffin: martingriffin@house.mi.gov
Gino Polidori: ginopolidori@house.mi.gov
Mike Simpson: mikesimpson@house.mi.gov
Mary Valentine: maryvalentine@house.mi.gov